Sharks name Couture 10th captain in franchise history


  • The San Jose Sharks have named forward Logan Couture as the tenth captain in franchise history, the team announced on Thursday.
  • Couture succeeds former captain Joe Pavelski, who signed with the Dallas Stars this offseason.
  • The club also announced the rest of its leadership group, naming Brent Burns, Erik Karlsson, Joe Thornton, and Tomas Hertl as alternate captains.

“Since I arrived in San Jose four seasons ago, we have been blessed with a tremendous amount of leadership on our roster,” said DeBoer. “Logan has grown up within that environment and evolved into someone who not only plays his best hockey when it matters the most, but who also leads by example off the ice. He knows what it takes to win and his performance in our recent playoff runs reflects that. Most importantly, Logan has the respect of his teammates and we’re extremely proud to name him as the tenth captain of the San Jose Sharks.”

“We have a great blend of talent and experience amongst these four players who will support Logan as alternate captains,” said DeBoer. “Two of these players are previous captains themselves and we feel this group is a reflection of our team’s identity and their leadership will be counted on both on the ice and in the community.”

  • Previous Sharks captains include: Doug Wilson (1991-1993), Bob Errey (1995-1995), Jeff Odgers (1995-1996), Todd Gill (1996-1998), Owen Nolan (1998-2003), Patrick Marleau (2004-2009), Rob Blake (2019-10), Joe Thornton (2010-2014), Joe Pavelski (2015-2019)
  • The Sharks open their 2019 Training Camp on Friday, Sept. 13 with the first group on the ice at 9:30 a.m. at Solar4America Ice (located at 1500 S 10th St. in San Jose).

Top 10 Logan Couture plays from 2018-19

Please follow and like us: